Program Management Blog

July 15, 2012

Perspector Tool Test 1 – Creating a Presentation – Why I am Looking for Tools

Filed under: Uncategorized — Milt @ 6:56 PM

I create a great deal of content in the course of my work. This content is used in many arenas including:

  1. Presentations
  2. Training
  3. Documentation
  4. Requirements
  5. White Papers
  6. Project Plans

I am a firm believer that content is more effective and of higher quality where there is a good balance of graphics and text. (I believe several different types of media (audio, animation, text, graphics, and hands-on) are essential for meeting various learning styles and providing sensory stimulus for the audience. With this said, I am constantly looking for neat tools to help display content differently and to spice up presentations.

I recently downloaded a demo copy of the tool Perspector. (http://www.perspector.com/ ) I found it on a Google search and decided to give it a try. I am going to share with you my thoughts as I create a presentation for the ProjectWorld Conference in Vancouver this September. I plan on using Prospector to generate content and convey the message of “Sixteen Integrated and Critical Soft Skills” that are essential components of your professional toolbox.

The download and installation of the product was pretty straight forward, although I must confess that I am using it on an older PC as my desktop has Office 2012 64 bit installed and the product only works on the 32 bit version. The 64bit vs. 32bit conflict is common – another discussion. I found it fairly easy to make some graphics right away and the interface was easy to navigate. I will never use the word intuitive because there are over 7 billion people in the world and each has their own perspective – so intuitive is too subjective to use as an adjective on any software.

To conclude the first installment on the blog, I created a simple graphic using Perspector to explain why I was looking for a tool. The reasons are in the graphic below:

The net-net is the tool made an appealing stair step list that had a little more pizza then the typical bullet list. I exported the slide to a png file and the result is satisfactory. First test is a positive. But more to come.

Dave

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

